Cowboy Hat... Help!

Decorating By Angela93 Updated 19 Aug 2009 , 9:23pm by xstitcher

Angela93 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Angela93 Posted 18 Aug 2009 , 4:45am
post #1 of 11

Its my father-in-laws birthday saturday and i just got the idea to make him a hat for his cake! he would loooove it but i've never used fondant to cover a cake before (let alone shape it like a hat) so could i get some pointers please?

one thing i'm worried about it the fondant! i've only made mmf and it never somes out very stretchy! i've only been able to use it for decor, never to cover a cake! anyone have any other recipes that might be better? i live in az which it is extremely dry right now soo... i'm sure that might have something to do with iticon_smile.gif and how do i shape the rim of the hat? how long will it take to stiffin for it to stand by itself? should i start now?! tomorrow is tuesday... that gives me 4 days.... is that enough time???

10 replies
cdent Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cdent Posted 18 Aug 2009 , 5:04am
post #2 of 11

Here's a good recipe for MMF:

Marshmallow Fondant
Recipe will cover an 8 square cake or about 2 dozen good size cookies
2 batches will cover a 12 square cake

Ingredients

16oz bag mini marshmallows
2 Tablespoons water
2 pounds Sifted C&H powdered sugar

Directions

1. Grease a microwaveable bowl, spoon & work surface with Crisco
2. Place marshmallows and water in bowl
3. Microwave on high for two minutes, until melted (mallows will be
puffy)
4. Stir with the greased spoon until all marshmallows are evenly
melted (you can add color in this step if you prefer!)
5. Begin to add sifted powdered sugar; stir it in until you can no
longer stir & then try to knead it in the bowl until its too difficult
6. Turn fondant onto work surface & continue to knead in sugar;
hopefully you can get it all in
7. Shape into ball, cover in shortening and wrap it twice in plastic
wrap (The fondant will keep for quite awhileI wouldnt go more