Did I Do The Right Thing With This Complaint?

Decorating By pattycakes55d Updated 21 Aug 2009 , 7:24pm by mackeymom

pattycakes55d Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pattycakes55d Posted 16 Aug 2009 , 10:53pm
post #1 of 34

I've only been doing cakes for 6 months, so I'm still new to all this. Client ordered cake via internet for her's daughters's first birthday. . She showed me a pic that she liked and asked for a bear on top and more purple butterflies.

I made the cake, except I couldn't put the gumpaste blocks with her daughter's name on top as the cake in the pic was larger than hers. I put her name right at the front of the cake. I did not do the exact same flowers and the design on the butterflies. The cake was pretty.

We agreed on a location to meet to give her the cake. It was only 5 minutes away from her parents home. I arrived and she looked over the cake with a fine tooth comb, which I guess is ok. She did mention that she would have liked the blocks and when I told her why she said ok. She kept saying the cake was cute and pretty, she loved the butterflies and her husband and Dad agreed. I handed the cake over to her. I drove away.

10 mins later she called and said that during the drive, one of the flowers at the bottom back of the cake came off. I told her how to fix i and we said goodbye.

The next afternoon, I looked at my facebook only to find that she picked apart the cake. She said I did not use the exact same flower design as in the pic and that the flowers were not in the same spot and the butterflies looked plain and cut from a cookie cutter. She really wanted the blocks on top. She asked why I didn't tell her about not being able to put the blocks on. (I do have to agree with that, I should have called, but I was so busy).