First Tiered Caked...lots Of Questions

Decorating By TracysCakes2009 Updated 27 Jul 2009 , 7:42pm by TracysCakes2009

TracysCakes2009 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TracysCakes2009 Posted 25 Jul 2009 , 1:53pm
post #1 of 11

Ok, so here it is. Obviously I am new at this so I know some things will come with practice....that being said....I am so impatient!!!

The bow......the bain of my existence! Any tips on making this easier. After I took this picture I had to stuff the paper back in it to keep it from collapsing and it was made yesterday. It is made out of MMF. I tried adding tylose powder to the MMF when I made the first bow and second bow (this is the third attempt) but it just cracked. So I decided to use just MMF. Obviously a mistake, it is drying out but very slowly....i'm not going to take the paper out until right before the party!
Also, I can't figure out how to roll out the fondant and not have it stick to the counter without all the powdered sugar. And as you can clearly see, there is visible powdered sugar everywhere on the bow. This is driving me crazy! Any suggestions on how to get rid of the ps look now that the bow is on the cake? I have seen in some other forums about people using a steamer, but I don't have one of those.

Finally, the buttercream....it is not smooth enough! I tried and tried. I am not sure I have it in me to make a cake with smooth buttercream. I would much rather just cover it in fondant, but the girl I made it for "doesn't like fondant" (snotty little kid voice). I used indydebi's buttercream, which I LOVE! Any tips on this.

Don't even get me started on the piping.....

So, I know we are our own worst critics and I know these are all things that are asked repeatedly on here, so thanks so much for tolerating my need to vent and giving me some personal attention! LOL

Any advise is MUCH appreciated! I envy you pros soooooo much!