What Do Y'all Do?

Business By jillmakescakes Updated 12 Jul 2009 , 11:26pm by cylstrial

jillmakescakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jillmakescakes Posted 12 Jul 2009 , 7:51pm
post #1 of 15

So in the never ending quest to help the bottom line, I am asking for ideas.

When you ice a tier that is going to be stacked (a 6 inch that is going to be on an 8 inch for example) I know that the 6 inch is on a 6 inch board, but what do you put the cake on to actually get the icing attached?

Currently, I am using another 8 or 10 inch cake board underneath so that I can ice and have something level to use with my bench scraper. I am wasting so many boards!!!!

What options are out there that are washable?

14 replies
3SheetCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
3SheetCakes Posted 12 Jul 2009 , 7:59pm
post #2 of 15

I'm just a newbie, but I usually just place wax paper down under the tier while icing it so that I'm not wasting another board.

DMCG Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DMCG Posted 12 Jul 2009 , 7:59pm
post #3 of 15

I just ice right on my turn table and then place the cake on a larger board to put in the fridge.

HTH
Danielle

1234me Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
1234me Posted 12 Jul 2009 , 8:23pm
post #4 of 15

I ice on a cake board and wash it after each use. It is a cardboard one and I just scrap off any extra icing on it and wipe it with a damp towel. It is a greaseproof cardboard so it is easy to wipe clean.

Bijoudelanuit Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Bijoudelanuit Posted 12 Jul 2009 , 8:44pm
post #5 of 15

I'd either put it right on the turntable or use the bottom of a round tart pan... either one is washable icon_smile.gif

Deb_ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Deb_ Posted 12 Jul 2009 , 8:52pm
post #6 of 15

I usually just put it on my turntable as well or a larger plastic plate (like the Wilton kind)

I too used to use a larger cake board, but I felt like I was wasting them.

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile