Gum Paste

Decorating By Kera414 Updated 22 Aug 2005 , 1:08am by marv

Kera414 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kera414 Posted 21 Aug 2005 , 8:26pm
post #1 of 11

I bought the Wilton Gum paste flower kit yesterday, I've never worked with gum paste before and I really enjoy it. The only thing I didn't like is that it cracks a little when you roll it thin. How can I prevent that??

My first gum paste roses and carnation:

Image[/img]

10 replies
VickiC Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
VickiC Posted 21 Aug 2005 , 8:29pm
post #2 of 11

Wow-great job for your first time using gumpaste! You can either use some crisco or reduce the amount of cornstarch on your board to see if it reduces the cracking. Wilton gumpaste is kinda dry and not as stretchy as home made gumpaste but it works well enough.

Kera414 Posted 21 Aug 2005 , 8:47pm
post #3 of 11

Thanks!! I think I'm going make my next batch of gum paste once I've used all of this. What's the best recipe?

kathyg Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kathyg Posted 21 Aug 2005 , 9:44pm
post #4 of 11

Yes, I also had problems with the wilton gumpaste - the cracking and drying out. However I do hVE A EXCELLENT RECIPE FROM SCOTT CLARKE WOOLLEY. i SAY HES THE MASTER YODA OF GUMPASTE. i HAVE PICTUES OF SOME OF MY GUMPASTE WORKE IN THE GALLERY. i LOVE MAKING THE ORCHID, ANTHURIUM AND THE RUBRUM LILLY. lET ME KNOW IF i CAN HELP thumbs_up.gificon_biggrin.gif

Biscat Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Biscat Posted 21 Aug 2005 , 9:55pm
post #5 of 11

Kera414 - your flowers look fabulous! I have used fondant but never gum paste - now you have me wanting to try it...

Kathyg - any chance you'd share your recipe? I'd love to have it if you don't mind sharing....

- Tami -

ntertayneme Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ntertayneme Posted 21 Aug 2005 , 10:33pm
post #6 of 11