What Do You Typically Charge For...

Business By annieluz Updated 23 Jun 2009 , 2:43am by CookiezNCupcakez

annieluz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
annieluz Posted 19 Jun 2009 , 1:49am
post #1 of 20

...one dozen regular sized filled cupcakes? they will be triple chocolate cupcakes with either fudge, peanut butter, or cookies and cream filling with choc frosting... I was thinking $2-$2.5/each but I really don't know if that is ok? My excel isn't working here at home so I can't use the matrix until next week (when I get back to my office) and I promised a quote for tomorrow... any suggestions?

THANKS!!!!!!!!!!!! icon_smile.gif

19 replies
kellertur Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kellertur Posted 19 Jun 2009 , 2:25am
post #2 of 20

BUMP icon_smile.gif

I've seen people price cupcakes $2+ before. I have trouble with cupcake prices too.

annieluz Posted 19 Jun 2009 , 2:33am
post #3 of 20

k2cakes... yea cupcakes are def. a toughy... especially since i am a newbie to selling so everything is a toughy for me! icon_smile.gif

to me cupcakes seem like more work... more decorating... more time... but I don't think I could charge more than $30 for 12... i know this really neat place that charges $2per cupcake but that isn't with filling... I am probably going to tell her I will do them for $28... if she wants 2 dozen I can bring it down to $2/ea...

icon_smile.gif

THANKS!!!

sweetsbyjen Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetsbyjen Posted 19 Jun 2009 , 2:38am
post #4 of 20

I think $2 or $2.50- is fair. I do it by the number of components and flavors, van or choc with BC is $1.50, Gourmet flavor with B.C. is $2 and then gourmet flavor with filling and flavored B.C. is $2.50. it's tough, but if you are going through the trouble, you mine as well msake it worth it. Once you add it up for each dozen, knock off $2 or $3 so they feel they are getting a discount for ordering more. 12 for the price of 11, get it! It works for me.