Wilton Icing Colors To Paint On Gum Paste?

Decorating By kitty122000 Updated 21 Jun 2009 , 11:59pm by bakingatthebeach

kitty122000 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kitty122000 Posted 14 Jun 2009 , 4:24am
post #1 of 14

I'm going to try to make some poker chips out of gum paste and I have been searching for over an hour trying to figure out if I have to use a powder or if the gel will work? I'm using the Wilton pre-made gum paste as it is my only option in the tiny town I live in. I'd like to cut out the shapes for the poker chips and then paint designs on them. Do they need to be completely dry before I can paint them? Thanks in advance, you all are so helpful! BTW if you cannot tell this is my first time using gum paste lol.

13 replies
Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 14 Jun 2009 , 4:32am
post #2 of 14

I paint on wet gumpaste sometimes (I am an impatient person) and it works well. It works just fine to paint with Wilton's gel colors. You can thin them with vodka so they don't take ages to dry. You can't use Wilton's white icing color over gel that's been thinned with vodka...or at least it didn't work at all when I tried it, it ends up looking gritty and runny.

kitty122000 Posted 14 Jun 2009 , 4:38am
post #3 of 14

Thanks for the quick response! I've got a week until I need this cake, and I dont have any vodka (shame I know! lol). should I use it straight, water it down, or get some vodka tomorrow when the liquor store is open? I guess what I am asking is how long does it take to dry without the vodka?

Texas_Rose Posted 14 Jun 2009 , 4:44am
post #4 of 14

Wow, y'all's liquor stores are open Sunday? Texas is so behind the times icon_biggrin.gificon_biggrin.gificon_biggrin.gif

You can use a clear extract, either lemon or vanilla or almond (wouldn't recommend peppermint because of the smell lingering). Vodka is cheaper in the long run if you're going to be doing a lot of painting, but extracts work just fine too.