Rolled Buttercream...how To Best Use It??

Decorating By BakeLoveMom Updated 27 Feb 2009 , 6:24pm by hoguewild

BakeLoveMom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BakeLoveMom Posted 26 Feb 2009 , 12:36am
post #1 of 16

I would love to try rolled buttercream, but I have heard it is more difficult to use for covering cakes and that. I would love some of your expert opinions. I think I would like to try it on cookies first...would I cut out the same shape as the cookie??? Do I place it on when the cookie is hot??? I would just like some tips.

Thanks so much.
Sarah

15 replies
FlourPots Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FlourPots Posted 26 Feb 2009 , 12:44am
post #2 of 16

When I made it, it was for cookies, but it was so incredibly greasy that I couldn't get it to work. It was a super soft greasy mess.

hoguewild Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hoguewild Posted 26 Feb 2009 , 1:01am
post #3 of 16

I'm by no means an expert, but I think it would depend on the recipe. I got mine from allrecipes.com and it worked wonderfully! I've used it to cover half a dozen cakes, without problem (and it was super dee-lish).

I agree with the above post, stating that it can get greasy, but I found making it the night before and then sticking it in the fridge to set eased that issue.

chilz822 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chilz822 Posted 26 Feb 2009 , 2:01am
post #4 of 16

hoguewild
How thick did you have to roll it to cover a cake without tearing?

BakeLoveMom Posted 26 Feb 2009 , 2:40am
post #5 of 16

I was mostly looking for another way to cover cookies, in the past I used antonia74 icing and regular bc. I have heard of using mmf or regular fondant, but I just didn't think it sounded very yummy. Does anyone have experience with those???

Thanks again,
Sarah

FlourPots Posted 26 Feb 2009 , 2:42am
post #6 of 16

hoguewild...would you share the recipe you used?

chilz, I love when Buddy's face appears in a thread...he's so freakin' cute.