Troubles With Cake Sticking??

Decorating By cakesforfun Updated 19 Aug 2005 , 3:59pm by ntertayneme

cakesforfun Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakesforfun Posted 16 Aug 2005 , 9:53pm
post #1 of 9

I'm new to cake decorating and having problems with my cakes sticking. I've tried the greasing and covering with flour method, and the cake release.

Do any of you use parchment paper? Do you cut it smaller than the bottom of your pan? Do you grease anything? I'm hoping this works!! Thanks in advance for your help!!

8 replies
mary-ann Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mary-ann Posted 16 Aug 2005 , 9:58pm
post #2 of 9

I spray the whole pan with Pam, cut parchment to fit just inside the bottom only, then spray the parchment. I don't have any problems with sticking.

traci Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
traci Posted 16 Aug 2005 , 10:07pm
post #3 of 9

The cake release works the best if you shake it up good, apply with a pastry brush, and do not put it on too thick. I had trouble when I first started using it....but now my cakes come right out without any problems.
traci icon_smile.gif

leily Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leily Posted 16 Aug 2005 , 10:46pm
post #4 of 9

if you have tried all of those things, My first question is how long do you let your cakes cool? I set my timer for 10 minutes as soon as it come out of the oven. After 10 minutes flip it over and the cake comes right out.

I personally make my cake release (equal parts of Flour, Oil, and Crisco). I brush it on my pan, then lay in a piece of parchment paper and put some more cake release on that too. (I prefer parchment paper for ease of moving cakes around after cooled, and also i don't have to worry aobut the bottom sticking this way.)

I hope these suggestions help. It can be very frustrating having cakes stick.

Leily

jdogga Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jdogga Posted 19 Aug 2005 , 2:05pm
post #5 of 9

I use Wilton Cake Release and it works like a charm everytime!