Pricing Help

Decorating By jenangel1229 Updated 13 Jan 2009 , 2:46am by indydebi

jenangel1229 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jenangel1229 Posted 13 Jan 2009 , 1:45am
post #1 of 8

I am fairly new to charging for cakes and I had a bride ask for a square 4 tier cake starting at 16 inches and working up 8 Inches. She wants the bottom tier cake but the remaining tiers as a "dummy cake". She wants to purchase sheet cakes to serve. I normally charge $2.00 per slice and $3.00 with fondant. How would you charge for this?

Thanks for the help!

7 replies
jlsheik Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jlsheik Posted 13 Jan 2009 , 2:03am
post #2 of 8

I would love to know too....I feel like if you are using the same ingredients and decorating dummies it should be about the same. I hope you get a answer! Did she think it would be cheaper?

pinklesley1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pinklesley1 Posted 13 Jan 2009 , 2:17am
post #3 of 8

take what you pay for the dummy, what you pay for the fondant... or the materials to make the mmf and then multiply by 3...

cylstrial Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cylstrial Posted 13 Jan 2009 , 2:28am
post #4 of 8

It's normally more expensive to have a dummy...because you are still going to decorate the dummy cake as if it were the real cake, so it's going to cost quite a bit. Plus, they have to pay for the cost of the sheetcake. What are they thinking??

pinklesley1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pinklesley1 Posted 13 Jan 2009 , 2:30am
post #5 of 8

people take some of the advice from these magazines that i swear do not get their facts straight...

they think that we get styrofoam for free or something, and that it comes decorated...

it is just as hard to decorate a dummy as it is a real cake... hellooooo someone needs to tell these brides something...

soccermom17 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
soccermom17 Posted 13 Jan 2009 , 2:43am
post #6 of 8