Strawberry Shortcake

Decorating By TheCakerator Updated 27 Dec 2008 , 2:02pm by katwomen1up

TheCakerator Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TheCakerator Posted 27 Dec 2008 , 1:37am
post #1 of 5

I am in desperate need of an idea for a strawberry shortcake cake. Its due tomorrow a.m. and all I have so far is a double layer ten inch round cake iced white. I have fondant and I tried to make a strawberry shortcake house out of RK treats and cover it, but that ended in a bad way, I'm sure you know what I mean. I see lots of cute cakes in the galleries, but they are either all stacked or character pan shaped. I am not good at FBCT's and I can't seem to find a strawberry shortcake candle anywhere so I don't even have that to work with. Any ideas please??????????

4 replies
sweetbn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetbn Posted 27 Dec 2008 , 6:48am
post #2 of 5

Hi,

Nunuk has a very cute Strawberry short cake posted, with strawberries around the sides and stripes,you could add a girly bow, and an FBCT or an edible image of Strawberry shortcake would be cool. Are you able to make a fondant strawberry short cake to stick on the top? Good luck!

J

katwomen1up Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
katwomen1up Posted 27 Dec 2008 , 1:10pm
post #3 of 5

Cakerator, you have a few choices. You said you had a double layer ten inch and the cakes in the gallery were stacked. I would pm the decorator and ask for some directions on how they did their cake. If you are good at using your eye I would make your double layer into strawberry shortcakes face. Scrap off the white and make it a skin tone. You can add strawberries for the border. Or...
Start over with a sheet cake and carve strawberry shortcake. Lastely invest in a charactor pan. Do you have a cake shop around that rents the pans? You don't have a lot of time so come up with another plan so you aren't up all night stressing out. I know how that is and it sucks! I hope on of these works for you.

Kat