Which Kitchen Aid Mixer Should I Get?

Decorating By rusticlark Updated 26 Dec 2008 , 4:01am by just_for_fun

rusticlark Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rusticlark Posted 23 Dec 2008 , 6:51pm
post #1 of 14

Hello everyone! I'm a newbie to this forum and I need help. My Husband would like to get me a kitchen aid mixer of my choice for Christmas. I've been researching for the last few days and haven't made up my mind yet as to which mixer i should get. I am not a serious baker but would probably do more in the future; I am even considering taking wilton decorating classes eventually. Would the Pro 600 be a little overkill? I just want the best mixer for doughs and icing. Since price is not an issue, I would like to get the best possible mixer. I would appreciate any input. Thanks and Happy Holiday!

P.S. i'm soooo excited!!!!

13 replies
jammjenks Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jammjenks Posted 24 Dec 2008 , 1:41am
post #2 of 14

Well, if price is not an issue, get the highest wattage available. I think mine is 450 watts and it works great for me.

sugarMomma Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sugarMomma Posted 24 Dec 2008 , 2:10am
post #3 of 14

I got the same offer a few years back and chose a 600 Pro. It is great for making large amounts of batter/icing but it has a bowl lift rather than a tilt head, so you have to detach the beater to check your batter/icing or to get the bowl off. A tilt head is better also for checking the stiffness of whipped cream.

When Lowe's goofed on their sale add last year, I purchased an Artisan for cheap. I find it is better for smaller quantities, especially whipped items (the Pro 600's bowl is huge) but I still find myself using the Pro 600 more since it is the one on my counter. But I do love th tilt head of the Artisan! They both have their pros and cons.

If you will be making quantity, get the Pro 600 for sure. If that is not a concern I'd stick with the Artisan for convenience. Hope this helps!