Clay Guns?

Decorating By flourgirlz Updated 30 Dec 2008 , 2:59am by Price

flourgirlz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
flourgirlz Posted 23 Dec 2008 , 3:25pm
post #1 of 32

I am new to decorating, and I have seen many cakes I love that were decorated with a clay gun. So, here is my stupid question: What exactly is a clay gun? Also, where would I get one and how would I use it? Thank you!! icon_razz.gif

31 replies
trumpetmidget Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
trumpetmidget Posted 23 Dec 2008 , 5:28pm
post #2 of 32

A clay gun is something you use to put fondant through. It works like play dough. You have a disk that you put on the end of a tube, put fondant in the tube and use a plunger-y thingy to push the fondant out of the disk. Depending on what kind of disc you put on the end decides the shape. You can get them at Michael's or an art store in the clay section. I just got a $5 one that is aimed for kids - works well for me. But, there are expensive ones, too. HTH.

tracycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tracycakes Posted 23 Dec 2008 , 6:15pm
post #3 of 32

I found mine in the clay supplies at Hobby Lobby. Makins brand makes a plastic plunger type that sells for about $5 and a metal one that has a rod that turns that pushes out the fondant/gumpaste and it sells for about $20. I had the plunger type but it killed my hands to push it through. I bought the metal one and I love it! It is so great for all kinds of things, expecially fondant ropes.

flourgirlz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
flourgirlz Posted 23 Dec 2008 , 9:52pm
post #4 of 32

Thank you so much for your replies!!

mommakristin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mommakristin Posted 23 Dec 2008 , 10:08pm
post #5 of 32