Sub Leases

Business By cakelady31 Updated 10 Nov 2008 , 6:38pm by cylstrial

cakelady31 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakelady31 Posted 7 Nov 2008 , 3:58am
post #1 of 5

Evening everyone. I have a question that maybe someone can shed some light on for me.
I have gone thru the proper channels to aquire my business license and such and that being done I have the opportunity to work out of a commercial kitchen in my area. Which would be a bit easier than having the BOH involved at the residential level . I have been offered the chance to pay on a weekly basis but she says" to offer a fair price and we will negotiate. "

I don't know or have any idea what a fair price would be and I certainly don't want to insult her.

She knows I am just starting out with this business venture and there are some possibilities of possibly working together , ie,work for space use, etc. You help me and I help you sort of arrangement . She is a one person business and so am I. . We have discussed the fact that as my business grows I will be able to afford more.

I am hoping someone will have some advice on how I could make this work .
Does anybody here sublease space and do you charge a flat rate per month or what.?

TIA
Carol

4 replies
bchristianson17 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bchristianson17 Posted 7 Nov 2008 , 4:29am
post #2 of 5

I don't know what the answer is here, sorry, but I am also curious to hear because home based bakeries are not allowed where I live.

If I could please add on to your question. . .

What additional things would you include in the contract since you don't own the place?
How would you go about advertising and such if people ask you where your shop is?

Thank you! And good luck with your cakes!

beccakelly Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
beccakelly Posted 7 Nov 2008 , 4:10pm
post #3 of 5