Need Some Help With Pumpkin Cakes...

Decorating By 3cheekymonkeys Updated 2 Oct 2008 , 5:43pm by 3cheekymonkeys

3cheekymonkeys Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
3cheekymonkeys Posted 30 Sep 2008 , 2:58pm
post #1 of 11

Good Morning,

I am planning on doing a "fall" theme 1st birthday for my son in a few weeks. I bought both the Wilton Giant 3-D pumpkin pan and the mini pans.

I plan to make a few large cakes (1 for us and a couple for doctors) and some mini ones including a smash cake. I was thinking of doing more of a glaze than frosting all the cakes and maybe adding some sprinkles?

Does anyone have any ideas recipes etc? (I am really new to cake decorating) I truly appreciate any help.

Thanks so much!

~Erin icon_smile.gif

10 replies
amy2197 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
amy2197 Posted 30 Sep 2008 , 3:07pm
post #2 of 11

if you want to do a glaze you could try petit for glaze. it's really sweet though

ladyellam Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ladyellam Posted 30 Sep 2008 , 3:18pm
post #3 of 11

Here's a recipe for a poured fondant that really easy.

2lbs sifted powdered sugar
2/3 cup water
3 Tbl. light corn syrup
2 t. flavouring

Put in a saucepan and warm everything until the sugar dissolves. Try and keep it warm but don't let it get above 99-100 degrees.

P.S. I love your "cheekymonkey" name. I actually have a wine( I own a couple of wineries) called "cheeky monkey".

BellaSweet Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BellaSweet Posted 30 Sep 2008 , 3:22pm
post #4 of 11

I found a great recipe in Food and Family magazine. It really simple: I yellow or white cake mix ( including wet ingredients called for on box), i box instant vanilla pudding, 1 can of pumpkin puree, 2 tsp pumkin spice. bake as directed. My family says this tastes more like pumpkin pie than the pumkin pie they make!!! don't care for pumpkin, but i love this cake!!! also goes great with cream cheeses frosting!!!

dragonflydreams Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile