Please Help A Cake Making Virgin!!

Baking By belle76 Updated 4 Sep 2008 , 3:03am by KrissieCakes

belle76 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
belle76 Posted 1 Sep 2008 , 1:49am
post #1 of 12

ok, i am losing my mind. I have searched many a website. I have always wanted to make and decorate cakes. Now i have a reason....my daughter's first birthday. the problem i am having is i cant find a good recipe! People tell me that even the pro's use box cake. Well i tried to use a higher end box cake tonight and it is still dry and well...blah. I want a chocolate and a yellow MOIST but DENSE recipe. How are the pro's cakes so dense and yet soo yummy???? Add to my issues...im at high altitude and no recipes i have found online have HA recipes. I am not a professional baker ....i have noooo idea how to alter a recipe correctly. ~~~then there is the filling and frosting. What is the best all over frosting and the best decorating frosting (not fondant)? i hear buttercream....but i have found a million DIFFERENT recipes. Im getting soooo confused icon_cry.gif I went to a birthday party a few weeks ago and the chocolate cake had a chocolate mousse filling. I look on line....you guessed it. a MILLION chocolate mousse recipes...all different. it has to be thick enough to hold up a layer of cake. I would also like a nice filling for a yellow cake. I know i could search the forum here....but i feel like i will just get more confused. If i could just get an overwhelming concensus....that would be good icon_biggrin.gif

11 replies
Deb_ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Deb_ Posted 1 Sep 2008 , 8:16pm
post #2 of 12

Hi Belle,

I recommend trying the White Almond Sour Cream (WASC) recipe. I've been reading about it a lot in these forum posts since I joined and I tried it this week. It is moist and dense and delicious. If you don't want the white cake there are modified versions for yellow and chocolate cakes in the recipe section also.