Sheet Cake For Barn Project: Will Cake Dry Out & Other Q

Decorating By caker123 Updated 30 Aug 2008 , 2:53am by JanH

caker123 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
caker123 Posted 29 Aug 2008 , 3:04pm
post #1 of 5

Hello CC...I'm a total newbie here, just learning about caking. I am a cupcaker at heart, but recently have had people ask me to do cakes. So this is my 2nd one...I have been reading the forum voraciously but I have a few questions I am hoping you can help me with.

I made two layers of a 12x18 red velvet cake, which I will cut into a barn shape, frost and decorate for delivery late Saturday morning. I figured I would just do the cutting/decorating etc on Saturday morning because the gal requested cream cheese frosting so it has to be refrigerated.

I made the cake late Wed night and wrapped it in wax paper, saran wrap and alum foil and put it in a cool dry place. It seems to be fine (checked this morning)!

I would LIKE to work on the cake tonite because I have the most time, and can fix any mistakes that don't do the way I plan...but if I crumb coat and frost it pretty thickly, and put it in the fridge overnight, will it dry it out? I am paranoid about putting items in the fridge due to dry cake syndrome. But am hoping with crumb coat and frosting, it will stay moist...help?

Then I can just add the finishing touches (barn door, window, letters etC) tomorow morning and cut my stress level in 1/2.

Also random Q, but I made two thinner cake layers which I will layer/torte with cream cheese, should I do this while they are still 12x18 and then cut the barn shape OR cut the cakes before then layer and fit the shapes together? I would imagine torte/layer then cut, but figured I'd ask.