How Do You Make An "elegant" Birds Nest?

Decorating By Reedsmomma Updated 22 Aug 2008 , 3:29pm by Reedsmomma

Reedsmomma Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Reedsmomma Posted 16 Aug 2008 , 10:58pm
post #1 of 13

I am making a cake for my friends jewelry party next week. She's debuting her ne jewelry line called "The Treasured Nest". I would love to make some type of birds nest for the top of the cake. I would love to do spun sugar because I think it's beautiful. Two reasons why I hesitate - I've never done it before and I'm afraid the humidity (I live in Texas) will make it melt. Can anyone give me some ideas on my to make a nest? Another medium besides sugar maybe? I want a really pretty, elegant looking "nest" if that makes sense... Any suggestions or ideas would be greatly appreciated!

12 replies
beachcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
beachcakes Posted 17 Aug 2008 , 1:57am
post #2 of 13

Can you make one out of strands of gumpaste woven into a nest?

beachcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
beachcakes Posted 17 Aug 2008 , 1:59am
post #3 of 13
delicious_designs7 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
delicious_designs7 Posted 17 Aug 2008 , 2:19am
post #4 of 13

http://www.jollybebakery.com/painted.html There's a bird's nest on this site.

delicious_designs7 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jibbies Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jibbies Posted 17 Aug 2008 , 2:49am
post #6 of 13

How about this. A birds nest using those chinese noodles that are white and look like birds nests, filled with or surrounded by edible jewels.

Jibbies

JanH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JanH Posted 17 Aug 2008 , 4:54am
post #7 of 13
Kim_in_CajunCountry Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kim_in_CajunCountry Posted 17 Aug 2008 , 7:05am
post #8 of 13

I immediately thought of this one, which delicious_designs7 linked to. I had come across it, too.