Unicorn Molds

Decorating By Nicolle711 Updated 5 Jul 2008 , 8:32pm by luvbakin

Nicolle711 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Nicolle711 Posted 3 Jul 2008 , 1:27pm
post #1 of 10

Hi Everyone! I am new to this cake decorating club and need some help, advice, tips, ANYTHING!

I am working on birthday cake and the little girl loves unicorns. I would like to make a unicorn out of gumpaste or fondant but I am not sure what type of mold I need and where I can purchase one. I only come across the small unicorn chocolate/candy molds. I need something a little large in 3D that can work as a cake topper. I want to challenge myself in this project but if all else fails I will opt for a plastic unicorn topper I found online.

Any ideas???

Thanks for your help icon_biggrin.gif

9 replies
kakedecorator Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakedecorator Posted 3 Jul 2008 , 2:14pm
post #2 of 10

I buy books for working with clay, but use gum paste to make them.

Nicolle711 Posted 3 Jul 2008 , 7:48pm
post #3 of 10

Why kind of molds do you use for clay? Do you have ay specific book, author or website that you like to use as a referral? Thanks so much!

KrisD13 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KrisD13 Posted 4 Jul 2008 , 4:17am
post #4 of 10

The books that kakedecorator is talking about generally show you how to shape it yourself. Like you would sculpt an object.

I don't think they sell molds for anything big like that. Most molds that I've seen are for small things, like the fondant lace on a cake.

Shola Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Shola Posted 4 Jul 2008 , 4:38am
post #5 of 10

I could only find one cake topper here of a unicorn but it is really cute! It doesn't look too hard to make, perhaps you could pm the maker and get some tips?

http://www.cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=gallery&file=displayimage&pid=294923

HTH's icon_smile.gif

Nicolle711 Posted 4 Jul 2008 , 12:47pm
post #6 of 10