New Business W/problems And Need Advice

Business By ahilton Updated 26 Jun 2008 , 11:36pm by Denise

ahilton Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ahilton Posted 19 Jun 2008 , 5:28am
post #1 of 25

My business partner and I have been working together for two years, but separately, in separate kitchens. We have recently merged and have a licensed kitchen in her basement. Problem: five, yes, 5 kids between us. We can't get any work done. Kitchen is still new, kids are excited, then they want to get into fridge all day, then end up fighting. Hers are ages 4,5 and 10. Mine are ages 2 and 9. Big gaps there. Spend day picking up messes, yelling for kids to take shoes off, etc. Older girls are great and even like to help. The 4,5 and 2 year olds are going to be the death of our business!!!
My 2 year old goes to daycare 2-3 days per week and hers stay at home and have never been in any type of daycare and would not acclamate well at this stage of their lives. Everyone is adjusting to new routine and it is not going smoothly. We are considering hiring a "sitter" to come to the house 1-2 days per week to watch all kids.
Any and all comments, suggestions and ideas are so very welcome!
We love what we do, which is custom-order, larger, fondant, 3-d and detailed cakes, and do not want to give up our dream, but our dream is quickly becoming a nightmare!!!
Please help us keep it together!

24 replies
fondantfrenzy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
fondantfrenzy Posted 19 Jun 2008 , 5:56am
post #2 of 25

one word....Nanny!

it's worth the investment and peace of mind you ca check on them any time!

auntginn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
auntginn Posted 19 Jun 2008 , 6:06am
post #3 of 25

You poor thing.......

But now why are you procrastinating? For your own piece of mind, do yourselves a favor and get the help. I would even suggest away from the kitchen. It will be hard enough on the kids to try to adapt when they will know mommy is close by.