Fondant Cupcake Topper

Baking By poisoncupcakes Updated 10 Jul 2008 , 2:48am by Penny7271

poisoncupcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
poisoncupcakes Posted 16 Jun 2008 , 6:28am
post #1 of 6

I have been making cupcakes for a while, but I have always been a buttercream girl at heart. I have made MMF a few times, but without very exciting results.

I have been asked to make 75 wedding cupcakes for a good friend who's having a reception. She wants white frosting, and a tiny forget-me-not on top, which to me sounds gorgeous. I want to make tiny little fondant flowers, but I'm totally new to the fondant issue. Do I put them on top of the cake soft? Do I let them harden and then use them? If I let them harden, will they be edible? If not, how do I tell people not to eat part of the cupcake? LOL Also, how do you make it so that the centers of your fondant flowers are darker or lighter than the outsides? I've been looking and looking with out much success, so I'm really hoping that there's someone out there who can throw me a rope lol. Thanks so much!

BreeAnn
poisoncupcakes icon_sad.gif

5 replies
Shola Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Shola Posted 16 Jun 2008 , 12:25pm
post #2 of 6

You can put them on soft but if you want them to keep their shape I would mix a small amount of gumpaste into the fondant, (not too much as it makes the taste a bit yuck!) and form the flowers and let them dry for a day or so, as for the darker petals the only way to do that for fondant is by airbrushing or painting them with some icing colour thinned with vodka, unless one of our pro's knows another way? icon_confused.gif
HTH's icon_smile.gif

aswartzw Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aswartzw Posted 16 Jun 2008 , 1:33pm
post #3 of 6

I would personally let the flowers dry. It definitely won't break a person's tooth if they eat it and most probably will pick off the flowers anyway.