How Long To Dry Mmf

Decorating By klsrtr Updated 12 Aug 2005 , 3:14am by beachcakes

klsrtr Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
klsrtr Posted 11 Aug 2005 , 2:50pm
post #1 of 5

I made MMF butterflies for a cake and was wondering how long it would take for them to dry, and when do I need to attach them to the sticks with the royal icing so that will dry. I made the butterflies Monday night, and they are for a cake on 8-20. Thanks

Kim

4 replies
jg556a Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jg556a Posted 11 Aug 2005 , 5:47pm
post #2 of 5

I'm not a pro at the mmf, but i do use it often. I would think the butterflies would be dry if 48 hrs top. 24 hours should do it but it you want to be safe you could give it another day. I would give the royal icing another 24 hrs to dry. You have plenty of time though, since you have until 8/20. Good luck!! icon_rolleyes.gif

abbey Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
abbey Posted 11 Aug 2005 , 5:53pm
post #3 of 5

i live in NC pretty high humidity here and my MMF takes a full 48 hours to dry. For something I really want to make sure is totally dry like bow pieces I let them dry at least 3 days sometimes a week.

Thalia Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Thalia Posted 11 Aug 2005 , 6:08pm
post #4 of 5

Just did mmf cake with flowers and banner. I live in Colorado, so it is much dryer here usually..although lately in house has been about 50-60% humidity due to rains. Made decorations one night and used 24 hrs later and they were hard. Sometimes to make alittle harder I've added alittle gum-tex...but it does change consistency some.

Thalia

beachcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
beachcakes Posted 12 Aug 2005 , 3:14am
post #5 of 5