Neatness... Learned Or Talent?

Decorating By Katied75 Updated 12 May 2008 , 3:50am by wgoat5

Katied75 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Katied75 Posted 11 May 2008 , 3:00am
post #1 of 22

I am not a neat cake decorator. However, I'm a very early beginner. I will take on a more challangeing buttercream cake and it will take me 8 hours to do (40 roses, scrolling, etc). We are only talking a round here too, not a tiered cake.

So, I'll spend 8 hours on this cake and by the end it's done and so messy. Dots are different sizes. Some roses were made with sharp, crisp petals and others were made with melted icing and look flat. The scrolling isn't always even. My kitchen is a huge mess with icing covering everything.

Anyway, I wondered tonight if I'm being too hard on myself... I'm a life long baker but I've only been decorating for 2 months. I love it but have to fit it in here and there and often am hurrying at the end because my kitchen has to be cleaned, kids need baths, bedtime stories must be read, etc. etc. Is "neatness" something that is learned through experience and practice and time, or is it something you either naturally have or don't have?

Thanks,

Katie

21 replies
Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 11 May 2008 , 3:19am
post #2 of 22

Neatness on the cake will improve with practice, changes in icing consistency, etc...

Neatness in the kitchen is a whole other story icon_lol.gificon_lol.gificon_lol.gif My kitchen is trashed right now. I'm waiting for my hubby to leave for work before I start cleaning it (he works nite shift) because I don't want him to see how many hours it will take me to fix it all.

Sugarflowers Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sugarflowers Posted 11 May 2008 , 3:23am
post #3 of 22