What Do You Think Of The The Cake Doctor Book

Decorating By kimheflin Updated 29 Jan 2007 , 7:17am by CakesUnleashed

kimheflin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kimheflin Posted 10 Jan 2007 , 8:13pm
post #1 of 29

I was just wondering who thinks this book is worth using. I am not very good at making cakes out of scratch and this book says it can make cakes taste almost like scratch but come out perfectly each time. If this is the case, why don't more people do this? Just wondering about opinions. Thanks.

Kim

28 replies
Zmama Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Zmama Posted 11 Jan 2007 , 12:53am
post #2 of 29

I looked at it today, and decided against it. I think it's the Cake MIX Doctor that everyone refers to, but that wasn't at Walden Books today.

dogluvr Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dogluvr Posted 11 Jan 2007 , 12:54am
post #3 of 29

I've got both the Cake Doctor and the Chocolate Cake Doctor as gifts....I really like the books. I have used it several times with great results. You get different flavors and texures with just adding to the basic cake recipe.

Puglady Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Puglady Posted 11 Jan 2007 , 1:47am
post #4 of 29

I recently bought the book but haven't tried any recipes yet. I did read the intro and agree with what the author said that you have to make your frosting, can't buy the canned stuff if you want great taste. I'll update this post after I've tried a recipe.

kimheflin Posted 11 Jan 2007 , 4:33am
post #5 of 29

Sorry...I did mean the Cake Mix Doctor...I just bought both the Cake Mix Doctor and the Chocolate Cake Doctor too. I am wanting to see how they turn out. I'm going to use it this weekend and see how different the cakes taste. And of course, homemade icing is definately the only way to go! Let me know what happens when you all use it.

CakesUnleashed Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakesUnleashed Posted 11 Jan 2007 , 6:25am
post #6 of 29