Should I Get Into The Cake Business?

Business By kimheflin Updated 7 Jan 2007 , 8:41pm by mypastrychef

kimheflin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kimheflin Posted 7 Jan 2007 , 1:00am
post #1 of 8

I want HONEST opinions before I jump into this whole-heartedly. I just posted a picture of a golf birthday cake that I did for my husband a couple of weeks ago. I am still totally in the learning stage and I did this cake before I learned anything about gumpaste so I did it all in fondant (that is why my golf balls are lumpy...LOL). I have done many cakes for my kids over the past few years, but this is my first one using fondant. I admit I have a lot of learning to do, but from my picture, do you think I might have a future in this if I keep practicing?
I am a teacher right now and am totally burnt out after 7 LONG years. I'm looking for a new career. This is something I have always liked to do (my mom did it and sold cakes since I was a kid) and I often make birthday cakes for everyone in my family, by request. There is no business in town that makes custom cakes except for Wal-mart and the grocery stores...but as everyone here knows, they are not original in any way. I want to get into doing original designs. Anyway, let me know what you honestly think. Thanks.

Kim

7 replies
aboelkens Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aboelkens Posted 7 Jan 2007 , 1:12am
post #2 of 8

Kim,
I only do cakes as a hobby so I can't help you with the business question. However; as a 10 yr teaching veteran, I understand why you are burnt out! Teaching is very stressful and only those in education know that icon_smile.gif Hope your decision makes you happy and remember Spring Break is not that far away!!

kelleym Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kelleym Posted 7 Jan 2007 , 1:25am
post #3 of 8

Kim,