Help Me Kick Start My Imagination!

Decorating By rigama Updated 2 Jan 2007 , 8:17pm by AlamoSweets

rigama Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rigama Posted 29 Dec 2006 , 12:34am
post #1 of 19

I just got a call for someone who wants a cake...She doesn't know the bday woman terribly well, but this is what I have.

65 yrs old
Funky fun
likes to go out dancing (not ballroom...clubbing icon_eek.gif )
Likes southwestern look
Dresses in bright colors
Leader in women's Self Expression and Leadership seminars
Life Coach
Has 2 small dogs

My first thought was a turquoise, purple and red Topsy Turvey cake, but I've never made one of those and I'm terrified. Plus I only have till the 6th.

Also thinking maybe a sheet cake with half ball on top...decorated as earth, perhaps and fun colors on the sheet cake. "A World Of Possibilites..." (one of he favorite things to say is "Invented as possibility).But I kinda blank there. For what it's worth, though I've been decorating for a couple of years, I've never taken a (whole) class and do this as a hobby so my skills aren't near as elaborate as you all! I'm looking for WOW ideas on a hobbiest level.

Thanks a million!

18 replies
nickluke0705 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nickluke0705 Posted 29 Dec 2006 , 2:39am
post #2 of 19

If you know how to work with fondant, or playdoh and cutters, how about taking the ideas about her, and putting figures or shapes on floral wire. That way it will look like they are coming out of the cake? YOu didn't say amount of people, but if you don't want wires, on layers put shapes about lady.

playingwithsugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
playingwithsugar Posted 29 Dec 2006 , 2:54am
post #3 of 19

Instead of topsy-turvy, you could do a cake that is similar - one of those cakes which has tiers that are wider at the top than at the bottom, but stacked symmetrically, directly on top of one another.

Theresa icon_smile.gif

sweet_as_tisse Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile