Calling All Clay Gun Users!

Decorating By Tkeys Updated 27 Dec 2006 , 4:25pm by coolmom

Tkeys Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tkeys Posted 26 Dec 2006 , 11:08pm
post #1 of 14

I just bought a new clay gun, and tried to use it on a cake for the first time, and I had a lot of trouble. Here are my questions:

1. Can you use fondant (in particular, MMF) with the clay gun, or just gum paste?

2. If I am supposed to be able to use fondant, but couldn't get the MMF to go through the clay gun, what was wrong? Was my MMF too thick? If so, perhaps that would explain the other issue I was having . . . .

How do you use your clay gun with gum paste and/or fondant? I'm new at this technique, so any advice/input would be welcome. Thanks!

13 replies
Tug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tug Posted 26 Dec 2006 , 11:30pm
post #2 of 14

bump...I wanna know too. icon_biggrin.gif

ShirleyW Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ShirleyW Posted 26 Dec 2006 , 11:35pm
post #3 of 14

I have used fondant, gumpaste and a 50/50 mix of the two kneaded together. If your fondant seems too stiff to go through there are two things that might help. Warm the fondant in the microwave, just a few seconds at a time until it feels soft and pliable. Another thing you can do is put a dab of Crisco on your finger and rub the inside of the extruder before filling with fondant, rub a bit on the plunger or press as well.

sweet_as_tisse Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweet_as_tisse Posted 27 Dec 2006 , 1:20am
post #4 of 14

i find that the gumpaste is the easiest to use with a clay gun...i have a cheap plastic one and a good solid one with the crank handle and both are hard to get mmf through, if i manage too it comes out rough and seems to break very easy...

the gumpaste just glides through and comes out smooth...

thats my experience with the two...

kylie

Tkeys Posted 27 Dec 2006 , 6:06am
post #5 of 14

Thanks . . . so that is one for using fondant, and one against. anyone else?