Grand Opening...need Some Ideas

Business By golfgirl1227 Updated 30 Oct 2007 , 4:37am by ChrisfromNOLA

golfgirl1227 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
golfgirl1227 Posted 29 Oct 2007 , 3:32am
post #1 of 9

I'm having my grand opening on Saturday. I will be open daily with cupcakes/cookies/etc so I will have those available on Sat. but does anyone have any thoughts/ideas/suggestions of other things to do/have/etc that will make this more of a fun thing and not just something boring. I'm not really sure how this will go, and I'm getting nervous so that's not helping the creativity!!

TIA!!!

8 replies
fraggle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
fraggle Posted 29 Oct 2007 , 4:47am
post #2 of 9

What about having door prizes, or announce that you're having a cakewalk (if space permits) at a certain time, or even do it outside if the weather's nice? Sorry, I'm not really good at this either.

mommyle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mommyle Posted 29 Oct 2007 , 4:59am
post #3 of 9

Hi there.
What about having little decorating stations for the kids? Decorate cupcakes or cookies... Make spiders out of fondant? I know, lots of work and supplies, but the kids will remember it, and then later you could be a birthday place perhaps...

KoryAK Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KoryAK Posted 29 Oct 2007 , 5:23am
post #4 of 9

When I do mine we will be serving free champagne! (ok for a one time event if you are not selling it and portion wise think wedding toast)

sweetreasures Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetreasures Posted 29 Oct 2007 , 5:34am
post #5 of 9

As a customer I'd want to have samples of cake flavors / fillings, designs of the type of work you do - even if the designs are dummy cakes

Door prize is a good idea. If decorating cupcakes with kids be sure there is plenty of help on hand to supervise.

coffee/ tea available

Erdica Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Erdica Posted 29 Oct 2007 , 11:30am
post #6 of 9