Design Transfer

Baking By saberger Updated 28 Oct 2007 , 3:24pm by IrishCookie

saberger Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
saberger Posted 25 Oct 2007 , 1:50pm
post #1 of 20

Hi! My son wants power ranger operation overdrive cookies for his b-day party. I thought it would be cute to make them and put them in the goody bag. I do not want to use edible image if I don't have to and thought it would be cool to use an oval cookie cutter and then pipe the face/mask design onto the cookie. But I am a LOUSY artist. Still draw stick figures!

So, my question is this: is there a way to do a royal icing transfer or something of the sort? Or use piping gel for the outline, put it on the cookie, and then pipe? I only know how to do this kind of thing with BC and on cakes. Or am I destined to have to use Edible images?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions and ideas!

19 replies
aubrazacmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aubrazacmom Posted 25 Oct 2007 , 2:39pm
post #2 of 20

Could you do the mask like they do with the royal icing letters? Print off a copy of the image cover with waxed paper and then trace the mask? Just a thought - I by no means have any idea if this would work but hopefully someone out there might know. I'd be curious about this also! Good Luck! icon_smile.gif

mjduphilly Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mjduphilly Posted 25 Oct 2007 , 11:02pm
post #3 of 20

Hello!

Okay, this is my first attempt with a buttercream icing transfer. I did the transfer using the wax paper technique and then once on the cake, I retraced the image using the new glitter gel icing. Now that I did it once, I am pleased but would use less icing on the back of the image.

Be nice...but tell me what you think!

mj
LL
LL

Edee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Edee Posted 25 Oct 2007 , 11:51pm
post #4 of 20

It looks great, nice job, I love doing BCT they are so much easier than freehand drawing,

I was also curious, anyone done this on cookies with royal icing?