Newbie Needs Help Please :-)

Decorating By lmevans Updated 20 Dec 2006 , 2:56am by JanH

lmevans Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lmevans Posted 19 Dec 2006 , 11:15pm
post #1 of 7

Hi, my name is Michelle and I'm a newbie. I'm just starting out, and actually dont really know where to start. LOL So, I want to make a Christmas tree cake to take to the family celebration Christmas Day. I am planning to make a sheet cake and cut 2 parts off to make the center a triangle/tree shape, then put those cut-off pieces together to make another triangle/tree cake. But, I dont really know where to go from there.
Bake the cakes tonight and freeze them? Then take them out on Sunday and decorate?
You cant use regular store-bought non-Wilton frosting to frost cakes, can you?

I plan on taking a cake decorating class in January, if my work will let me off for 4 Wednesday evenings in a row. *fingers crossed*

Thank you in advance for any advice!

Michelle

6 replies
tyty Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tyty Posted 19 Dec 2006 , 11:24pm
post #2 of 7

Hi there Michelle, you idea sounds like it will work. Or you could just buy the tree pan. I would bake the cake and freeze and decotate it Saturday night. Then on Sunday you can just get dressed and go, no stress. I have a tree in my photos.

I hope you have no problem getting the days off for your classes, they are fun. Hope this helps.

emnjakesmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
emnjakesmom Posted 19 Dec 2006 , 11:34pm
post #3 of 7

Welcome to your new obsession, Michelle! icon_lol.gif

You could do a cupcake cake, then you wouldn't have to do all the carving. There's a picture someone just posted recently- I'll try to find it and reply.