Curious Does Anyone Know

Baking By luvhavinbgtwins Updated 17 Dec 2006 , 3:51am by 7yyrt

luvhavinbgtwins Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
luvhavinbgtwins Posted 16 Dec 2006 , 3:23pm
post #1 of 10

Why on sugar cookies some recipes have reg butter and some ask for unsalted please let me know........

I am new to all this baking and I dont see the difference..

9 replies
Ray75 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Ray75 Posted 16 Dec 2006 , 3:34pm
post #2 of 10

I was always told to use unsalted when baking, as to why I'm not sure, maybe cuz you can always add salt but not take away?

JoJo40 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JoJo40 Posted 16 Dec 2006 , 3:36pm
post #3 of 10

The issue is the amount of salt in the butter. Using unsalted butter allows you to add the specific amount called for in the recipe. If the recipe calls for 1/2 tsp salt and unsalted butter (for instance) and you put in 1/2 tsp salt but use salted butter, you are adding more salt than is called for which can affect the texture and taste of the cookie. I always, always use unsalted butter in all my baking.

lindav76 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lindav76 Posted 16 Dec 2006 , 3:51pm
post #4 of 10

I was out of UNsalted butter and had to make a cake, so i made my imbc with regular butter. my icing was very salty so i learned not to use salted butter but to way and go buy unsalted butter ,you CAN tell the difference .it ended up in the garbage can ......just sharing

JanH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JanH Posted 16 Dec 2006 , 9:25pm
post #5 of 10

lindav76,

Your post interested me, as some decorators add salt to their frosting to cut the perception of sweetness.

I usually use salted butter, because it's readily available at the Sam's Club. And because I can't really tell any difference between a recipe using salted vs. unsalted butter.

Guess I have very dull taste buds icon_smile.gif

However, after reading this article, it may be that the Sam's Club butter isn't heavily salted: