Storing Cakes

Decorating By jekizer Updated 4 Aug 2005 , 8:27pm by momoftwogirls

jekizer Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jekizer Posted 4 Aug 2005 , 4:42pm
post #1 of 11

I am rather new to this and I have a delima. I am supposed to bake a cake for my nephew's birthday party on 8-13. I am wondering how far in advance I can bake the cake and keep it frozen. FYI... I am building a football stadium, so I am wanting to start early. Just not sure how to do that, and keep the quality good. icon_rolleyes.gif Any help would be appreciated.

10 replies
Sugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sugar Posted 4 Aug 2005 , 4:44pm
post #2 of 11

Freezing a cake is fine! Just make sure it's wrapped really well. When you're ready just pop it out of the freezer, and set it out on the counter for a few hours. Then unwrap and frost!

I also put a fresh box of baking soda in the fridge and freezer just in case.

ntertayneme Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ntertayneme Posted 4 Aug 2005 , 4:50pm
post #3 of 11

If anyone was a sceptic of freezing cakes, it was me. But let me be the first to say, it works and it works great!! After baking, letting them cool completely (for a couple of hours and to let them settle), I wrap in saran wrap, then in aluminum foil. I freeze them on some old cookie sheets I have (I knew they'd come in handy for something eventually icon_biggrin.gif) ... when ready to use, I set the out on my snack bar, remove the aluminum foil and leave the saran wrap on them... when I come home from work, I remove the saran wrap and crumb coat... to me, they're even more moist then when you first baked them.. just make sure you do as Sugar suggested, put a fresh box of baking soda in your freezer and make sure you don't have onions, bell peppers, etc. in there that may give your cake their flavor .. good luck!! remember to post pics too icon_wink.gif

jekizer Posted 4 Aug 2005 , 4:57pm
post #4 of 11