Help On Stacked Construction Please

Decorating By Momof-4 Updated 8 Oct 2007 , 6:10pm by indydebi

Momof-4 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Momof-4 Posted 8 Oct 2007 , 5:41pm
post #1 of 7

I am getting ready to do a practice run on a cake for my son's 2nd b-day in Nov.I want to do one now since I have never done stacked construction before.I am reading the Wilton yearbook.I have my cake boards and dowels.I am doing a 12", 10" and 8".I think I understand the directions I am seeing about putting the dowels in the 12 and 10".My question is how do the dowels help if they are only through the one level?If you cut them off even how does the 12" help support the 10"? Also what makes the 10" not sink into the 12" if its buttecream? I realize it will be on a cake board but won't that push down into the layer below it? Also how do you cut the cake if it has all the dowels in it?

Sorry for all the questions.Thanks in advance for any advice icon_smile.gif

Jamie

6 replies
4them Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
4them Posted 8 Oct 2007 , 5:53pm
post #2 of 7

the dowels create a sub floor for support that's what the next level sits on to keep from sinking into the one underneath hth

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 8 Oct 2007 , 5:55pm
post #3 of 7

It's very easy.

The 10" cake is not sitting on the 12" cake .... it is sitting on the dowels that you have inserted into the 12" cake and you have cut them off level with the top of the 12" cake (level with the top of the 12" cake AFTER it's been iced, they are actually cut off level with the top of the icing, rather than level with the top of the cake).

The 10" won't sink into the 12" because it's sitting on the dowel rods.

Repeat the process for the 10" and the 8" .... dowels in the 10" cake will support the 8" cake.

I only put 4 dowels in each cake. When you cut the cake, you lift the 10" cake off of the 12" cake; you pull the dowels out of the 12" cake; you then cut the 12" cake.