6" Wedding Cakes What To Charge?

Decorating By Sweetcakes23 Updated 8 Oct 2007 , 2:42am by Sweetcakes23

Sweetcakes23 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sweetcakes23 Posted 7 Oct 2007 , 12:11am
post #1 of 9

I have an order request for 25 6" round cakes for a wedding. Simple designs, fondant covered. No flowers, just Hot pink, white and a little brown in design.
I've never done this type of order before, and I wonder if it will more difficult, and time consuming to do 25 little cakes than one large one? How should I price it out? Or is it about the same if design is on the simple side?
I was thinking $3.50 per slice.
Any suggestions?

8 replies
beccakelly Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
beccakelly Posted 7 Oct 2007 , 12:20am
post #2 of 9

you should charge more, unless you happen to have at least 25 6 inch pans around. im assuming you don't, so now you have to consider the time it will take to bake that many cakes in 2 pans, or the cost of purchasing lots of pans that you will likely not use again. and you have to consider the space to store them, the extra time to fill and ice 25 cakes, verses 3-4. i always tell brides that the mini table cakes are never cost efficient, and they're also hard to serve since they're at the center of 8-10 people. most brides decide against using them when i explain the cost involved.

IHATEFONDANT Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
IHATEFONDANT Posted 7 Oct 2007 , 12:23am
post #3 of 9

I find that smaller cakes are more labor intensive and harder to work with..but that might just be me.

Fondant isn't cheap despite the fact the cakes will be on the plain side.

Depending upon the filling used I would say your $3.50 is a bit on the low side.

I'd have to go at least 4.50....

Sweetcakes23 Posted 7 Oct 2007 , 12:30am
post #4 of 9