How Do I Use Piping Gel???

Decorating By Arty Updated 8 Dec 2006 , 4:44pm by RisqueBusiness

Arty Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Arty Posted 2 Dec 2006 , 7:21am
post #1 of 20

I am new to cake decorating and still learning what products do what. I decided to buy some piping gel.....but after searching for information, I can not find any about how I should use it??? icon_cry.gif

Please can someone tell me.........

19 replies
ShabbyChic_Confections Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ShabbyChic_Confections Posted 2 Dec 2006 , 7:41am
post #2 of 20

You can use it in different ways, for pattern transfer on a cake, for thining icing, it works great for writing when you add it to icing or you could just add color to it an write with it, you could use it to simulate water on a cake adding blue food coloring, I hope this helps ! thumbs_up.gif

Arty Posted 2 Dec 2006 , 12:06pm
post #3 of 20

Thank you, thank you for your reply and answer. Your reply has answered a multitude of questions I had. Only 1 further question I have from your reply - How does the piping gel work for pattern transfering? Would love to know.

Again thank you, really appreciate it icon_lol.gif

Crimsicle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Crimsicle Posted 2 Dec 2006 , 3:19pm
post #4 of 20

In addition to the uses suggested above, I use it for stained glass effects. There's an example in my photos.

Right now, I'm using it to emboss designs on chocolate Christmas ornaments. I let it dry a bit and then go over the embossing with liquiified luster dust.

I've also used it to make "bubbles" for a champagne flavored cake (also in my pix).

I keep a tub of the stuff (and a backup) all the time. It as a zillion uses.

Hope this helps.

Zmama Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Zmama Posted 2 Dec 2006 , 5:31pm
post #5 of 20

For pattern transfer: