How Do I Get Rid Of Imperfections In Fondant?

Decorating By chele_belle Updated 30 Sep 2007 , 5:41pm by SScakes

chele_belle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chele_belle Posted 29 Sep 2007 , 3:11pm
post #1 of 11

I am always having trouble with getting small imperfections in my fondant. They look like small holes, am I kneading it too much? I'm pretty new to this so any help would be appreciated. I have attached links to pictures of my latest cake. It's hard to see them but I think it's easiest in the black tier.

TIA
Chele icon_smile.gif

http://www.cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=gallery&file=displayimage&pid=1088143
http://www.cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=gallery&file=displayimage&pid=1088123
http://www.cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=gallery&file=displayimage&pid=1088103

10 replies
messyeater Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
messyeater Posted 29 Sep 2007 , 3:41pm
post #2 of 11

I'm not an expert either but I don't think you can over-knead fondant. Do you use a smoother? That normally helps to get rid of imperfections on the surface...you can also use the flat of hand and gently rub. For small pieces you could try rolling out between layers of parchment paper, this will give you a smoother finish.
Nice cake by the way!

leily Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leily Posted 29 Sep 2007 , 5:59pm
post #3 of 11

Are you making your fondant or buying it?

If you are making it what recipe are you using? if you are buying it what brand are you using?

tnuty Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tnuty Posted 29 Sep 2007 , 6:11pm
post #4 of 11

Your fondant might be a little on the dry side, I notice when I use cornstarch to roll out my fondant I get little imperfections.. but when I use crisco they dont seem to be there. I would try using crisco to roll out your fondant, also what are you rolling on there might be imperfections in your mat or table or whatever you are using. HTH

swingme83 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile