Gumpaste Or Fondant Cross Topper

Decorating By brightbrats Updated 30 Nov 2006 , 5:13am by ShirleyW

brightbrats Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
brightbrats Posted 30 Nov 2006 , 4:02am
post #1 of 4

I tried looking through previous forums, but the search section says it is under construction. So I thought I would just ask.

Which would be better for a cake topper for a dedication, a gumpaste cross or a fondant cross ?

Also do you know where I can get a pattern, it is to late to order a mold.

Plus I have never used gumpaste before, is it easy to work with ?

Anything else you think I need to know on this topic, then I am all ears. icon_lol.gif

3 replies
ShirleyW Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ShirleyW Posted 30 Nov 2006 , 4:16am
post #2 of 4

I would suggest gumpaste, it dries harder and faster than fondant. Do you know how to do quilling? Just roll the gumpaste free hand cut a solid cross shape (cross cookie cutter if you have one) and let it dry completely. Roll gumpaste out and cut thin strips about 1" long, roll each strip one at a time around the handle of a small artist paint brush or a pencil, slip it off carefully, moisten one side of the roll with gum glue and glue it to the solid cross. Continue till it has been filled, I glued a few pearl beads inside some of the rolls and let the whole thing dry, then dusted with super pearl luster dust. I made a solid base out of a small amount of gumpaste, rolled thick, about 1/2" then cut out a design with a petal gumpaste cutter, let it dry completely. Or you could just form it by hand, an oval and then flattened, I glued the cross upright to the base with a hot glue gun.
LL
LL

brightbrats Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
brightbrats Posted 30 Nov 2006 , 5:01am
post #3 of 4

ShirleyW

That cross is beautiful.

Don't know if I can do it or not, but I think I'll give it some practice, I have until the 10th of next month, so maybe I can give it a shot.

Thanks for the info. thumbs_up.gif