Help Me Fix This...

Decorating By SeptBabyMom Updated 22 Sep 2007 , 6:28am by FromScratch

SeptBabyMom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SeptBabyMom Posted 21 Sep 2007 , 5:33pm
post #1 of 11

I'm making a doll cake for tomorrow and it's my first time. Of course there was one side of the dress part that looked best, so I chose that to be the front. When I was covering with fondant, my finger nail scraped in to it. I didn't worry casue I figured I'd be able to hide it somehow... but now that I'm getting done with it, I can't figure out how to hide it? Please help? Ideas? It doesn't look as bad in this picture as it does in reality, but it's very noticable.

Thanks.
LL

10 replies
DEBBIE157 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DEBBIE157 Posted 21 Sep 2007 , 5:38pm
post #2 of 11

can you put a little flower over the part that got messed up?

SeptBabyMom Posted 21 Sep 2007 , 5:40pm
post #3 of 11

I realize this is hardly visible in this picture... must be the flash. But the mark is just down from the doll's left hand in toward the middle....

mamacc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mamacc Posted 21 Sep 2007 , 5:44pm
post #4 of 11

What about little dots going down the fold. You'd probably have to do all the folds if you did that though...

Or else maybe add on some kind of little overskirt around the waist that doesn't cover up too much of your main skirt....like mabe little strips kind of fairy like. Am I explaining this right??

Or a bow at the waist. That would work too and be pretty quick and easy.

Courtney

mrsw Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mrsw Posted 21 Sep 2007 , 5:53pm
post #5 of 11

What about giving her something to hold, some flowers and have them cascading down with greenery over the imperfection? Nothing too wedding like or maybe a ribbon or a wand or something like that?

dolfin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dolfin Posted 21 Sep 2007 , 5:58pm
post #6 of 11