Wilton Recipie Buttercream Not Working

Decorating By Hellokittymom Updated 17 Sep 2007 , 10:21pm by TexasSugar

Hellokittymom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Hellokittymom Posted 16 Sep 2007 , 2:37am
post #1 of 17

Hi everyone! I am new to cake central and I just started to take a Wilton I class at my local Michaels store. I am in the process or i should say i already have made a batch of the wilton buttercream mix and my cake is completley cool and i have tried to spread it on and it doesnt stick!!!! I have crumbs in my frosting, should I have added more water??? I followed the recepie just as the instructor told us to.

Any tips that you could tell me will be greatly appreciated!

16 replies
shebellas Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
shebellas Posted 16 Sep 2007 , 2:43am
post #2 of 17

Did you thin it down for icing the cake...on the page next to the recipe (I think that's where it was at) it tells you how much water to add to thin it down to the right consistency...and sometime I thin it down a little more then it calls for but that's just a personal preference...

chances are the icing is just to thick still...good luck!

JanH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JanH Posted 16 Sep 2007 , 2:45am
post #3 of 17

Hi and Welcome, Hellokittymom. icon_smile.gif

Here's a list of CC acronyms:

http://forum.cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-2926-.html

Your Wilton b/c might too stiff, and it's pulling your cake apart while you're trying to spread it.

Try adding a tablespoon or two of milk or water and see if that doesn't work better. icon_smile.gif

Here's Wilton's b/c recipe:

http://www.wilton.com/recipes/recipesandprojects/icing/bcream.cfm

Link to Wilton's stacked/tiered wedding cake preparation:

http://www.wilton.com/wedding/cakeinfo/index.cfm

HTH

dupart30 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dupart30 Posted 16 Sep 2007 , 2:46am
post #4 of 17