So This Is What A Coworker Suggested . . .

Decorating By dljc Updated 11 Sep 2007 , 10:47pm by indigojods

dljc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dljc Posted 11 Sep 2007 , 4:06pm
post #1 of 10

I've been decorating for a couple of years and although I make only 6 cakes or so a year, I go for broke and challenge myself with each one. Maybe I'll put more in my photos one day but I usually just recreate ideas that I see here on CC.

So my coworker who has seen pictures of my cakes suggests that the office participate in a contest to see who can come up with a theme for a cake. A cake that I would make! Oh, of course they would help out with buying "supplies" but I would produce the cake as requested.

After I closed my mouth, I just said, "no". I don't think that she realized that she was volunteering 10-15 hours of my life to make this theme cake for work and for people I don't feel like baking for . . .

Now if it were for my kids, I'm the first one with my hand up. But for work?

I just don't get it.

Going back into my hole,
Debbie
LL

9 replies
Auryn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Auryn Posted 11 Sep 2007 , 4:08pm
post #2 of 10

Yeah
im with you
a firm NO would have been my answer too
seems like she as just trying to get free yummy cake out of you

Lemonydoodles Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lemonydoodles Posted 11 Sep 2007 , 4:24pm
post #3 of 10

I think my answer too would be a "no". Unless it would be for a company party in which the office paid you for your cake....I just don't understand some people, granted I understand that a lot of people do not comprehend the time it takes to create cakes, etc. I would just tell her "thank you for admiring my skills but at this time I have no time to spare for a free cake"

Dixiegal01 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Dixiegal01 Posted 11 Sep 2007 , 4:28pm
post #4 of 10