Fillings ???

Decorating By simplysweetcakes Updated 4 Nov 2006 , 8:34pm by cakesoncall

simplysweetcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
simplysweetcakes Posted 4 Nov 2006 , 2:40pm
post #1 of 10

I am new to this and I have a question about fillings. I've heard of people using fruit preserves/jams but to me they are too sweet/corn syruppee. I tried some of the better brands and it still taste like something that should be on toast and not in a cake. Do you do something to the jam before filling the cake? What are y'all using for fruit fillings?

9 replies
Kiddiekakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kiddiekakes Posted 4 Nov 2006 , 2:45pm
post #2 of 10

Alot of people mix the jam right into the BC icing and use that for filling.Not as sweet.

karateka Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
karateka Posted 4 Nov 2006 , 2:45pm
post #3 of 10

I use things like Polaner All-Fruit in mine. I also use those sleeve fillings.

JaneK Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JaneK Posted 4 Nov 2006 , 2:49pm
post #4 of 10

I have used this apricot filling from the Wilton site...it has the consistency of jam when done but there is the option for amount of sweetness. It is very good but I increased the amount of Grand Marnier in it.. icon_biggrin.gif

http://www.wilton.com/recipes/recipesandprojects/cake_filling/apricotfilling.cfm

Hope that helps and welcome to the addictive world of CC !!!

doleta Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
doleta Posted 4 Nov 2006 , 3:58pm
post #5 of 10

I am getting a lot of requests for lemon cake with lemon curd. Lemon curd is tart.
I know that is not going to help with most cakes but it is good with lemon or gingerbread.

ShirleyW Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ShirleyW Posted 4 Nov 2006 , 4:19pm
post #6 of 10

I like H&H sleeved fillings, very good straight, mixed with fruit or added to whipped Pastry Pride topping.
http://www.cybercakes.com/pastry_fillings.html