I Hate Bc Roses...

Decorating By pinkyEm Updated 2 Nov 2006 , 2:06am by pinkyEm

pinkyEm Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pinkyEm Posted 31 Oct 2006 , 7:35am
post #1 of 25

...but I think they hate me more!! icon_evil.gif LOL I'm a beginner but I do have the technique down, my problem is my frosting. It's hard to practice your technique when your frosting keeps pooping out on you. icon_confused.gif lol
I made a batch of BC, filled one bag for petals and another for bases. Same exact frosting, same exact consistency. I get the base piped out all perfect and pretty and as soon as I put the center on, the base mooshes over and just keeps mooshing more and more as I add petals. At this point I'm too frustrated to try again. icon_cry.gif Maybe I will just never make a cake with roses. lol I'm wondering about either making a separate batch of icing, extra super stiff for the bases or even making a bunch of bases and freezing them and adding the petals onto frozen bases. Any insight to either of these ideas would be great or even other suggestions on how to make stable bases. I just know if my bases stayed upright while I was piping on the petals, I could make some pretty roses. HELP, please!! icon_sad.gif

24 replies
7yyrt Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
7yyrt Posted 31 Oct 2006 , 7:40am
post #2 of 25

Use Hershey Kisses as your base. Just stick one on the nail with a little buttercream,then just pipe the petals as usual.

JanH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JanH Posted 31 Oct 2006 , 7:46am
post #3 of 25

Here's a slightly different technique for making the base:

http://tinyurl.com/um8rp

And here's there's no flower nail:

http://www.cakecentral.com/article50-Making-Buttercream-Roses-on-a-Stick.html

HTH

P.S. ....who doesn't hate poopy frosting!!!

veejaytx Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
veejaytx Posted 31 Oct 2006 , 7:56am
post #4 of 25