Luster Dust Application

Decorating By shortNsweet Updated 30 Oct 2006 , 2:02pm by cncsmom45

shortNsweet Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
shortNsweet Posted 29 Oct 2006 , 8:08pm
post #1 of 8

Is there a way to get Luster Dust to NOT come off on everything it touches after it's applied? I made a gumpaste bow, and used luster dust on it, and now it's coming off so easily whenever I touch it! Is this normal, or did I do something wrong? It's my first time using it. It looks GREAT on the bow loops, but when I touch it ( just to move it or handle it for a second) it's all over my hands! I know it's for decoration only, but still, I don't want the customer to get it all over themselves when they remove it from the top of the cake! I applied it with lemon extract, and it looks exactly how I hoped it would. Any suggestions, or is this just the nature of lusrer dust? Thanks!
Mindy

7 replies
Fairytale Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Fairytale Posted 29 Oct 2006 , 8:21pm
post #2 of 8

Are you saying it stayed wet? Yes, that sometimes happens. Switch over to vodka and that will solve the problem. I've only had this happen a couple of time, but only with gold dust.

missyek Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
missyek Posted 29 Oct 2006 , 8:58pm
post #3 of 8

How much drying time are you allowing before you handle the piece? It still does take a bit of time to completey dry--not hours, but it is not immediate either.

msauer Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
msauer Posted 29 Oct 2006 , 9:36pm
post #4 of 8

I am interested in the answer to this one as well. I just did a chain made gumpaste and airbrushed it with silver luster dust and vodka. Two days after I painted it, the silver was still coming off when I was trying to put it on the cake. I use luster dust a lot via this same application and I have thought all along it was just the nature of the beast. If there is an alternative, I really need to know!!!

-Michelle

Fairytale Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile