Copyright Issues?

Decorating By CHuffmyer Updated 24 Aug 2007 , 7:10pm by phoohbear

CHuffmyer Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CHuffmyer Posted 24 Aug 2007 , 6:10pm
post #1 of 4

Hi! I'm pretty new to cake decorating and don't really sell cakes, I just make them for fun. But a friend of mine asked if I would make her a Disney Princess cake for her daughter. I know I shouldn't SELL her the cake...what should I do? Tell her no? Or can I just make a cake and let her put the Disney characters on herself? Not sure...Thanks!

3 replies
frindmi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
frindmi Posted 24 Aug 2007 , 6:18pm
post #2 of 4

I believe that you could be the one placing the plastic figure, she doesn't need to do it. The problem is when you make one figure to look like the Disney one, and you charge for the cake, that's where the problem comes.

justsweet Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
justsweet Posted 24 Aug 2007 , 6:25pm
post #3 of 4

Here is some information to help you decide.

Copyrighted Characters on Cakes~ The Legal Stuff

*This is some info provided to me as a Wilton Instructor:
All licensed character shaped pans, candy molds and cookie cutters are for consumer home use only. Stores/Shops/Decorators cannot make cakes, cookies or candies from licensed products and sell them to consumers. These "mold-making" items are strictly prohibited from any type of commercial use since the licensor has neither the method to control the quality of the reproduction of the character nor the ability to earn royalties on sales of the "made" products. This applies to both baked & craft-type products.

Free-hand or copies of character designs cannot be drawn or iced on top of a cake, cupcakes or cookies and sold for any type of commercial purpose. Once again, the licensor cannot control the quality & is not earning a royalty on the product created around their characters.