Want To Do A Dragon Cake

Decorating By cindi Updated 22 Oct 2006 , 5:15pm by mamacc

cindi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cindi Posted 21 Oct 2006 , 4:23pm
post #1 of 10

Hello everyone. Newbie here and I'm looking for Japanese theme cake for my brother. I saw a ying and yang cake as well as a dragon cake in the gallery - love them both. Anyone have any ideas how to combine the two or tips on how to accomplish the dragon effectively? I'm just afraid my dragon will look like a scared snake.

I'm talking about the dragon with the gold lustre on it. I love it and am just scared since I'm not a really seasoned decorator. It is a very sometimes hobby of mine.

Any advice would be great.

Thanks,
Cindi

9 replies
Florimbio Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Florimbio Posted 21 Oct 2006 , 8:22pm
post #2 of 10

See if you can do a search on the web, or look at a book about caly dragon. Like a polymer clay book or sculpty clay, same idea just use fondant. Debbie Brown has a bunch of cake books that show how to make dargons. You can go to her web site and click on the books and take a peek at what dragon you like... Hope that helps

mamacc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mamacc Posted 21 Oct 2006 , 9:17pm
post #3 of 10

Did you mean my red dragon cake? I think there is another dragon cake that is dusted with gold luster dust too. Mine was a little complicated to do because I had to make a support board for underneath the mouth. You could probably do a similar cake without the mouth being open. I made the body out of small round cakes placed on their sides, with some carving.

Courtney
LL

springlakecake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
springlakecake Posted 21 Oct 2006 , 10:38pm
post #4 of 10

I love your dragon cake! Very very cool...!

jess9333 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jess9333 Posted 21 Oct 2006 , 10:44pm
post #5 of 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mamacc