Boyfriend's 20Th Birthday

Decorating By kkswmmr114 Updated 23 Aug 2007 , 1:23pm by mjulian

kkswmmr114 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kkswmmr114 Posted 22 Aug 2007 , 8:14pm
post #1 of 7

So my boyfriend's 20th birthday is coming up and I know kinda what I want to do. I want to do a topsy turvy cake but I dont know what decorations to put on it. I dont really want anything extremely difficult (beginner here) but I just think swirls and stuff are a little girly. Any ideas for designs for his cake?? I think I am going to do the base frosting color in blue and then the designs in chocolate buttercream. I am absolutely horrible with fondant, I totally blew it my first (and last) time, so I would rather just stick with frosting. Any ideas would be very helpful!! Thank you!

6 replies
Erlyns_Treats Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Erlyns_Treats Posted 22 Aug 2007 , 8:21pm
post #2 of 7

what does he like?

afolk Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
afolk Posted 22 Aug 2007 , 8:29pm
post #3 of 7

Maybe brown diamond shapes with blue circles at the intersections? Varying (or uniform) vertical stripes? Just some not-too-girly thoughts!

Regan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Regan Posted 22 Aug 2007 , 8:29pm
post #4 of 7

How about just different sized squares on one layer, then maybe stripes on another layer, circles?? I have not attempted a topsy turvy cake, I think I'm to afraid to, would love to see pictures when you are done. Good luck!

lizzamaryann Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lizzamaryann Posted 22 Aug 2007 , 8:36pm
post #5 of 7

you can do something blue or gray/black.
Maybe do a navy blue fondant cake with light blue circles.
Or use chocolate fondant with a big bow on top...

kkswmmr114 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kkswmmr114 Posted 23 Aug 2007 , 1:13pm
post #6 of 7