Question About Freezing Cakes

Decorating By daisyz Updated 18 Oct 2006 , 5:09pm by nikic

daisyz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
daisyz Posted 17 Oct 2006 , 8:39pm
post #1 of 9

I am new to cake decorating and have learned so much from CC!!! =)
Anywhoo, my question is how long can I keep a cake in the freezer without it getting dry or tasting frostbitten (I did wrap it up tightly in saran wrap)? How should I defrost it? Do most of you guys bake your cakes fresh or make them ahead of time and freeze them? I have always made mine fresh, b/c I thought freezing them would mess up the texture....Is this true? Sorry for all the questions!! And thank you for any tips and advice!!! =)

8 replies
dydemus Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dydemus Posted 17 Oct 2006 , 10:33pm
post #2 of 9

I don't freeze mine, so I can't answer that, but hopefully this will bump your question back up. icon_smile.gif

daisyz Posted 17 Oct 2006 , 10:57pm
post #3 of 9

..anyone? =)

daisyz Posted 18 Oct 2006 , 2:33am
post #4 of 9

Bump! =)

jtb94 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jtb94 Posted 18 Oct 2006 , 2:40am
post #5 of 9

I have frozen my cakes. The longest time was two weeks. I took them out of the freezer in the AM and I left them wrapped in saran wrap. Then that night I iced the cake. They were fine. Once I tried to ice the cake before it was defrosted but I couldn't get the buttercream to crust.

Sweetcakes23 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sweetcakes23 Posted 18 Oct 2006 , 2:43am
post #6 of 9

I can only tell you what I do, I'm sure you will get lots of differing opinions. But, I am going to Pastry Chef school, and I've done it both ways. I have learned that it works best for me to make my cakes ahead even if only 48 hrs. ahead, tort them, simple syrup them, wrap them well, and freeze them. These steps make them much easier to work with, ice, fill and they have ALWAY been so moist!
All I can tell you is, try it both ways, and see what YOU like.
Sweetcakes23