Cake Extender - Will This Be Enough

Decorating By jessieb578 Updated 19 Aug 2007 , 1:03pm by katwomen1up

jessieb578 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jessieb578 Posted 18 Aug 2007 , 1:29pm
post #1 of 11

1 mix plus cake extender, will this be enough for 2 - 10 inch pans 2" high??

I've never used this recipe before, so I figured I'd give it a shot! It says enough for 3- 9 inch pans, so I thought it might be ok for 2 - 10's.

Any thoughts?

10 replies
lara3teach Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lara3teach Posted 18 Aug 2007 , 1:39pm
post #2 of 11

My opinion is no. Personally, I like my cakes to be 2" after leveling. I used the extender recipe and made two 8" rounds that after leveling were 2". I don't think this recipe is actually enough for 3 9" cakes (IMO). I think you would need 1 1/2 -2 batches for two 10" rounds. I'm certainly no expert, though...so I'm curious to hear what others say. icon_smile.gif

HTH!

LittleBigMomma Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LittleBigMomma Posted 18 Aug 2007 , 1:53pm
post #3 of 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by lara3teach

My opinion is no. Personally, I like my cakes to be 2" after leveling. I used the extender recipe and made two 8" rounds that after leveling were 2". I don't think this recipe is actually enough for 3 9" cakes (IMO). I think you would need 1 1/2 -2 batches for two 10" rounds. I'm certainly no expert, though...so I'm curious to hear what others say. icon_smile.gif

HTH!

I agree. One mix w/extender not enough.

katwomen1up Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
katwomen1up Posted 18 Aug 2007 , 3:00pm
post #4 of 11

You will definately need 2 box mixes. Make Cupcakes from the left over batter.

Kat

JanH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JanH Posted 18 Aug 2007 , 9:02pm
post #5 of 11

Here are all four Wilton cake preparation and serving charts:
(Shows how much batter needed per pan by size and more. Also gives how many servings by pan size.)

http://www.wilton.com/cake/cakeprep/baking/times/index.cfm