Has Anyone Had Success With...

Decorating By aliekitn99 Updated 15 Oct 2006 , 7:45pm by Missyleigh

aliekitn99 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aliekitn99 Posted 15 Oct 2006 , 3:48pm
post #1 of 12

getting the cake dividing wheel perfectly flat? I have tried soaking in hot water and a blow dryer blowing hot air on it but can not get it flat. icon_cry.gif I am in the course 3 and my instructor said it must be perfectly flat. Please advise, any suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance.
aliekitn99

11 replies
Tiffysma Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tiffysma Posted 15 Oct 2006 , 3:57pm
post #2 of 12

Iron it between 2 pieces of cloth (low heat).

Rambo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rambo Posted 15 Oct 2006 , 5:25pm
post #3 of 12

I graduated course III 6 months ago and still haven't gotten my wheel flat. When using it for fondant what really matters is no creases, which makes you wonder why the heck did they fold it and stuff it in a box. I finally used my heating gun from my stamping stuff to get it good and hot after ironing didn't seem to work. Don't know if this helps but I thought knowing you aren't the only one out there might be comforting, icon_biggrin.gif

jtb94 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jtb94 Posted 15 Oct 2006 , 5:36pm
post #4 of 12

I sat mine in a sink of hot water. Then I roll it up and keep it in a paper towel holder. I am going totry to make this part make sense, when you roll it up, you have the bottom side up, then roll it up. That way when you you need the matt the edges aren't curiling up on you.

Missyleigh Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Missyleigh Posted 15 Oct 2006 , 5:45pm
post #5 of 12

Spray water on the table where you will be working and the mat will form a suction to the table and this will help flatten out the mat...

aliekitn99 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aliekitn99 Posted 15 Oct 2006 , 5:56pm
post #6 of 12

Thanks everyone.