How Much For The Fish?

Decorating By sarzoemom Updated 15 Oct 2006 , 11:15pm by sarzoemom

sarzoemom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sarzoemom Posted 12 Oct 2006 , 9:53pm
post #1 of 9

I have a request for a grooms cake. They want a 1/2 sheet cake with a 3D fish on top of it like the one in this picture. [img] http: //www.cakecentral.com/cake-photo-59526.html [/img]
My question is how much should I charge? They want it in buttercream or cream cheese frosting, on a lemon yellow cake with no filling. I am new to sellling and am not sure how much to charge. My gut is saying $55. Is this good? Should I go higher of lower? Just not sure.
Thanks

8 replies
sweetsuccess Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetsuccess Posted 13 Oct 2006 , 12:50am
post #2 of 9

I'd say that you are in the ballpark. I defintely wouldn't charge less than $55.00.
Good Luck!!

TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 13 Oct 2006 , 2:37am
post #3 of 9

I would probably charge $55 for the fish alone. With a 12x18 under it, I wouldn't do it for anything under $100.

How much are your supples (cake, icing, boxes and boards) going to cost you. Once you know that you can have a better idea of how much to charge so you are making money and not short changing yourself. 3D stuff adds to the cost too.

sarzoemom Posted 13 Oct 2006 , 8:02pm
post #4 of 9

MMmmm, I probably have about $25 in supplies in it. I guess maybe $75 would be a better price. Here is a practice fish that I did for her. she wanted it to look as realistic as I could get it without using fondant. So I am painting on buttercream with luster dust and veg shortening.
LL

elvis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
elvis Posted 13 Oct 2006 , 10:50pm
post #5 of 9

The practice fish looks great! Definitely at least $75 or $80--I can't tell how big your fish is. I charge $50 for just a 12x18 with nothing on top. Think about how many hours are involved for you!

sarzoemom Posted 14 Oct 2006 , 6:16am
post #6 of 9